10th NASS Leadership: I’m with APC, PDP won’t take it – Wike


Speaking on the on-going plans by the opposition parties to produce the leadership of the 10th National Assembly, Governor Wike has declared that Rivers State lawmakers will not be part of such disruptive scheme.

Governor Wike who disclosed this during a media chat today in Port Harcourt said “I’m not a member of APC but prominent members of the party interested in the office of the Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives have reached out to him to indicate their interest.

Wike said “People have come to see me. Wase (Hon. Ahmed Idris) has come, (Senator Godswill) Akpabio has come, (Governor David) Umahi has come, Uzor Kalu has called me on phone from U.S severally. And what am I saying? I’m not from their party, but first of all, democracy entails that the majority should have their way.

“I have been hearing and reading where people are saying that the opposition parties are meeting to take over the leadership of the National Assembly. They won’t take it, it’s not possible. Even me, I will not support that.

”The Rivers State governor urged the opposition parties to allow the APC leadership to choose the leadership of the National Assembly because it is their entitlement. He urged the minority in both chambers of the National Assembly to form a robust opposition to challenge the ruling party.

“APC should still produce the leadership of the Assembly. Nobody should count Rivers state as part of the agenda to take over the leadership of the National Assembly. PDP can’t tell us that. Did they support us to win election? They can’t tell us that.

“I will not support that kind of move where you want to takeover the leadership of the National Assembly as an opposition, I won’t do that. There are so many politicians who are very selfish, I’m not one of them.

”Wike however, advised the national leadership of the APC to consider the diversity and complexity of the Nigerian State in determining its preferred candidates for the offices of the Senate president and Speaker of the House of Representatives.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here